© 2023 by McKenzie Brackeen for Village MVD

  Registrations

Many types of vehicles must be registered and titled in the state of New Mexico, including recreational vehicles, boats, motor homes, buses, manufactured or mobile homes, trailers and off-highway vehicles–such as ATVs or snowmobiles. The purpose of motor vehicle registrations is to establish a link between a vehicle and the owner or user of the vehicle for the state of New Mexico. Our friendly, trained, and highly knowledgeable staff are available to answer any questions or concerns you may have about your vehicle’s registration in New Mexico. It’s very important that all New Mexico residents get their motor vehicles registered properly. We stay on top of every change, so you can get back on the road as soon as possible! 

DOCUMENTS NEEDED TO REGISTER YOUR VEHICLE(S) IN NEW MEXICO

  • One (1) valid Driver’s License or ID for EACH person that will be on the title

  • Two (2) Proofs of New Mexico Residency 

  • One (1) Proof of Insurance – In New Mexico, drivers must operate their motor vehicles with a minimum of liability auto insurance. Minimum auto liability insurance amounts required in New Mexico are $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person, $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons, and $10,000 for property damage in any one accident. Bring one (1) of the following:

    • Current auto insurance card

    • Copy of your current auto insurance policy

    • A letter from your auto insurance company (on company letterhead) that verifies your auto insurance coverage.

  • One (1) Vehicle Title – Bring untouched, along with completed Bill of Sale.

  • One (1) Bill of Sale– Completely filled out by purchaser and seller 

DOCUMENTS NEEDED CASE BY CASE

  • One (1) Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin– when registering a NEW vehicle, the original MCO, (not a copy) is required.

  • One (1) VIN Inspection–only required for vehicles coming from out of state. (Your VIN Inspection can be completed by our licensed VIN Inspectors at Village MVD).

  • One (1) Dealer’s Invoice – The original invoice or a certified copy of the invoice if the vehicle was bought at a dealer.

  • One (1) Power of Attorney – Only required if someone other than the person whose name will go on the title and the registration is registering the vehicle for that person. A Copy of their driver's license is also needed.

  • One (1) Affidavit of Gift of Motor Vehicle or Boat –when doing a transfer of a vehicle or boat as a gift. Both the donor and the recipient must sign the Affidavit of Gift of Motor Vehicle or Boat and have their signatures notarized. 

  • Lien Holder Information or Original Title–if the vehicle you are registering is being financed. then we need to request the title from the finance company. The following information is needed for financed vehicles:

    • The name of the finance company

    • The fax number of the titling department of the finance company

    • The mailing address of the titling department of the finance company

 

AVOID LATE VEHICLE REGISTRATION PENALTIES IN THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

The state of New Mexico imposes penalties for late registration and you can be pulled over by law enforcement for expired tags. The penalties for late car registration can include:

  • 1 to 30 days late: a $10 fine in addition to your vehicle registration fees.

  • 31 days+: you are required to pay your registration fee, plus an additional 75 percent of registration costs.

NOTE: There could be possible police citation(s) and/or fee(s) from the State of New Mexico if you have been cited for expired registration by law enforcement.